close menu
This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.

Park Advisory Board

The Park Board meets on the 4th Tuesday of each month at 5 p.m. at the Walker Fire Hall, located at 701 Elm Avenue, Walker, MN 56484.

Sec. 2-104. - Park advisory board.

The park advisory board shall consist of seven members appointed by the mayor with the consent of the council. Two members shall be city council members, at least two members shall be City of Walker residents and one member appointed by Shingobee Township board, one Shingobee Township resident and one member appointed by Turtle Lake Township Board.

All members shall be voting members; elected members appointed by their board shall not have a term limit, all other members shall serve one three-year term. The terms shall be staggered so that each year at least two but not more than three terms expire. Vacancies shall be filled for the remainder of the original term. A member's appointment will be terminated 30 days after a respective property interest expires. In the case that the city receives no qualified applicants and a member whose term has expired is interested in remaining on the commission the mayor, with the approval of the council may re-appoint until at which time the city receives a qualified applicant for the seat.

Any member may be removed by the mayor with the consent of the council for cause after a hearing. The board shall designate one of its members chairperson and another of its members secretary.

(Code 1986, § 3-307; Code 2000, § 33.25; Ord. No. 3, 6-7-1999; Ord. No. 2015-01, 12-7-2015 )
State Law reference— Parks generally, Minn. Stats. ch. 448.